Skip to content

A Poem

April 4, 2008

 

MUTINY

Oh this time too both X, no Y.
So this time too a girl am I;
But this time fate I will defy.

One girl-life proved too much for me.
All my life I could never be
myself, but always someone’s somebody.

Always a name tagged to my own.
As daughter, then as a wife I was known
And then as mother when children I borne.

Learnt to serve then served all long,
Learnt that men are never wrong,
Learnt that girls are born to belong.

Nature! Nay! Take no umbrage
At what may seem to you an outrage:
My ‘escape’ via a miscarriage.

……………………………………………………………………………….

I wrote this poem when I was in college. It has been a long journey since then both in time and space and, hopefully, in my understanding as well. If I were to once again take the poetic license to imagine myself as a female fetus, my idea of a mutiny – in the circumstances described in the poem – will most likely differ from the one I had when I wrote the above poem. This time I might not choose to leave the world as silently as I chose to do then. I be damned if I were to damn myself! At the very least, I will now leave blog prints behind :-I

But then, as a man, the poem – at the very best – remains only a speculation about a world I do not inhabit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2008 10:12 am

    where are you now?

  2. mistersingh permalink*
    April 14, 2008 4:59 pm

    I am in Massachusetts, near Boston.

Leave a Reply

