Skip to content

(Miss)Fortune

April 26, 2008

I have two brothers, no sister.

The three of us were born in India when the technology for sex-determination was not as accessible as it is today. And even if it were accessible then, I am pretty sure my parents would not have used it; and had they even wanted to use it, they would not have been able to afford it. My parents were – in the view of many people in the town – “lucky” to have 3 sons (and no daughter).

I do not share this perception of “luck” or fortune. As one of the three sons, I surely have missed the fortune of having a sister; my brothers too have experienced this “loss”.

People wanting to have sons don’t realize that they would be depriving their sons of sisters and, in turn, risking raising their sons with a warped worldview.

It is interesting to see how much my mother, today, is closer to her daughter-in-law than she is to her three sons. I won’t be surprised to learn someday that deep in her heart my mother may already be nurturing some regrets of not having a daughter. And were she to have these regrets, she is more likely to confide in my sister-in-law than either of us – her sons.

So much for her three sons!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 27, 2008 12:15 am

    🙂 well written.

    I have an aunt who has two sons and BADLY wanted a daughter. Even now she says that if someone promises her that she’d definitely get a daughter, she’ll try for a third child. Perhaps I should advise her to eat unhealthily going by your previous post. :)))

Leave a Reply

